Being Me


When I began writing my book “Tissue of lies” I foolishly believed that all I had to do was write it, edit and rewrite it several times, and then proof read it a few times before publishing it. I was quite content doing all of this as I love getting absorbed in projects I can lose myself in. Basically, I’m an introverted, quiet sort of person. I’m happy by myself or equally happy in the company of my husband and family.

That was before I learned as a self publisher I also had to market the product I had created. All marketing advisers advocate joining and participating in media websites to an almost manic degree. Publicising yourself and not the product is what they are advocating. Yet, that is not me; I’m a stay at home type, not the type to go gallivanting around networking here and building contacts there. I have faith in my product and believe I’ve published a great story so why shouldn’t I promote it? I have less confidence in promoting myself. Regarding the media websites, I’ll take part and hope my book gets noticed, but how far do I have to change from the real me? How do other writers and authors feel about this?

About caroleparkes

My husband calls me a butterfly because I flit from one hobby to another. Apart from being a wife for 49 years, a mother of three sons, and a grandmother, I'm also an author, genealogist, amateur artist, a lover of most needlecrafts, and occasional poet. Of the above, my most enduring interest has been writing and I hope to be doing it well into old age.
This entry was posted in e-Books, New Author, Readers, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your views.

