Unfair to Authors


Although Amazon.com shows no reviews for my book ‘Tissue of Lies’, there are some excellent reviews on Amazon.co.uk. I don’t know why the two branches of the same company cannot display the same information about a book. Even the Best Sellers Ranking is way out by 1.5 million. Anyone looking at my book in Amazon.com would assume no-one has read it. Any other company displaying false information about a product would be dealt with severely. Why are we letting Amazon.com get away with this? Is the reverse true for USA Authors? Do they have the same problems with Amazon.co uk?

About caroleparkes

My husband calls me a butterfly because I flit from one hobby to another. Apart from being a wife for 52 years, a mother of three sons, and a grandmother, I'm also an author, genealogist, amateur artist, a lover of most needlecrafts, and occasional poet. Of the above, my most enduring interest has been writing and I hope to be doing it well into old age.
This entry was posted in New Author and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Unfair to Authors

  1. Hi Carole, as a regular review contributor to various online book stores, I can tell you the following:

    I have to post on BOTH Amazon.co.uk AND Amazon.com, because I discovered that these reviews only occasionally get copied from one to the other and do not appear in the amazon stores for any other countries (I don’t have the time or inclination to try and register with all of them and copy my comments across – Sorry Author Friends Everywhere, but I’m only one old ape šŸ™‚ )

    Posting comments in Barnes & Noble is not the easiest task in the world and sometimes, I can’t do it even if I bought the book through my Nook HD! Plus, EVERY review I DID manage to get posted in B&N appears to be from some person called ANONYMOUS when (eventually) shown on the Nook UK site!

    Smashwords will only permit reviews to be posted if the book is actually bought from there – but SOMETIMES (if it suits them I guess) they copy comments from B&N and vice versa)

    I also post on Goodreads, but was once told I MUST include links to anywhere else I have reviews, or risk them being ‘disappeared’ – although, I have to say that when I queried this, I received a very apologetic reply and was told my comments will NOT disappear!

    Hope this helps šŸ˜€

    Like

  2. What a time-wasting mess it is when you have to post the same comments all over the place. The jungle drums in your habitat would be more efficient I think.

    It’s a little different in my case though because I didn’t write the reviews. As they are not my words I can hardly re-post them on Amazon.com. In any case wouldn’t they just be added as comments, not reviews?

    Like

  3. Hi Carole, a reader is allowed to submit an Amazon review only to the company where they have an account. I agree that it is unfair. I have accounts at both Amazon.ca and Amazon.com. I don’t know if I would qualify for an account at Amazon.co.uk. ~ Dennis

    Like

    • Now I understand; thank you for that informative comment. I had mistakenly thought the reviews were sort of attached to the book when in fact they belong to the company who are selling the book. I’ve still so much to learn (sigh).

      Like

  4. Sorry, I can’t advise you about an amazon.co.uk site.

    Like

I'd love to hear your views.

