Experimental Art


Experimental Art

This was painted with my granddaughter’s cheap box of water colour paints on standard A4 printing paper. I just wanted to see if you can get a reasonable result on thin paper like this.

About caroleparkes

My husband calls me a butterfly because I flit from one hobby to another. Apart from being a wife for 52 years, a mother of three sons, and a grandmother, I'm also an author, genealogist, amateur artist, a lover of most needlecrafts, and occasional poet. Of the above, my most enduring interest has been writing and I hope to be doing it well into old age.
This entry was posted in New Author and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Experimental Art

  1. Wow – that’s lovely! How did you get the standard paper not to go all wrinkly?

    Like

    • Thank you. Before putting the brush to the paper I dabbed it on a paper kitchen towel to mop up the water. So the paint was fairly dry when it went on. This is a great trick to teach the grandchildren. Giving them a proper paintbrush is also helpful to them. The ones that come with the cheap paints are rubbish.

      Like

      • Great trick for me too – I’m only starting to try watercolours now. Thanks!

        Like

        • Good for you. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. I only started painting about three years ago and although I’ve had no art lessons, I’m really enjoying experimenting with what works and what doesn’t. In one way it’s good that I haven’t been hindered by someone telling me what to do. I feel free enough to just try anything. I collected all sorts of odd things to use for painting. I’ve used toothbrushes for splattering–ending up with more on me than the paper–sponges for dabbing, masking tape for clean edges and various other items. My preference is for acrylic paint as you can add varying amounts of water to make it thin like water paint or thick like oil paint. Enjoy. I look forward to seeing your future painting posts.

          Like

I'd love to hear your views.

