The Cards Don’t Lie


Odyssey of a Novice Writer

file000705853018

First time I laid eyes on Mickey Flynn, I felt liquid fire pour through my veins.

At the time, I’d been with the Cirque du Swell for about ten years. I had a nice scam going as Madam Natalia Bukowska. I was supposed to be the impoverished daughter of an exiled Polish aristocrat, forced to earn my living reading cards and telling fortunes in traveling shows.

Well, I was no more the daughter of an aristocrat than our two-bit circus was ‘swell.’ But the scam’s the thing when you’re part of a traveling show, and every Jill and Joe who’s willing to lay down a couple of bucks is just a sucker begging for a little make-believe… and who was I to burst their bubble? If the suckers wanted a Polish aristocrat, I gave ‘em one.

The aristocrat scam was actually Pops Slawinski’s idea. Pops was the nasty old s.o.b…

View original post 1,374 more words

About caroleparkes

My husband calls me a butterfly because I flit from one hobby to another. Apart from being a wife for 52 years, a mother of three sons, and a grandmother, I'm also an author, genealogist, amateur artist, a lover of most needlecrafts, and occasional poet. Of the above, my most enduring interest has been writing and I hope to be doing it well into old age.
This entry was posted in New Author. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Cards Don’t Lie

  1. Kate Loveton says:

    Carole, how kind of you to reblog my story! I am very grateful. Thank you.

    Like

I'd love to hear your views.

