Traditional Gender Roles, Romantic Preferences and Feminism


Chapter TK

“My son, he wants a classic woman, but every one these days is a feminist.”

So despaired a mother I spoke with over the weekend. Her words confused me because I wasn’t really sure what she meant. My assumption was that he wanted a woman to be a stay-at-home wife, so I told her stories about friends I grew up with who wanted nothing more than to be stay-at-home moms. She didn’t seem convinced and I let the conversation fade.

Her words have stuck with me and I can’t help but wonder how she exactly defines feminist. I have written on feminism before and people have cautioned me from identifying with the movement. It was through one of these conversations that I first heard of Christiana Hoff Sommers. She separated feminism into two categories: Equity feminism and gender feminism. To put these in simply terms, equity feminism is…

View original post 810 more words

About caroleparkes

My husband calls me a butterfly because I flit from one hobby to another. Apart from being a wife for 49 years, a mother of three sons, and a grandmother, I'm also an author, genealogist, amateur artist, a lover of most needlecrafts, and occasional poet. Of the above, my most enduring interest has been writing and I hope to be doing it well into old age.
This entry was posted in New Author. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your views.

