So how much money is there is this book writing job anyway?


You really tell it as it is. My guess is that most of us plunge in and do it ourselves, regardless of all the advice given.

Jim Webster

People do occasionally ask this question. Normally they’re too polite; sometimes they just assume the money just keeps rolling in. Other times when they actually meet me they make the inspired guess that it doesn’t put my amateur status at risk. There again, perhaps it’s the new bathroom that leads to them jumping to conclusions.

 

 Image

 

So how much does it cost to produce a book properly?
Well first let’s ignore the writer’s hourly rate. Let’s look at the stuff that ought to happen.

Assuming we’re talking about a book that’s 70,000 words long I’d suggest you’re looking at the following figures. We’ll stick with an e-book because the numbers are less complicated.

 

Front cover. I’d guess somewhere between £30 and £70 should get you something acceptable so we’ll say £50. Be aware, artists are considered remarkably flaky, prone to attacks of the vapours, but unlike…

View original post 1,135 more words

About caroleparkes

My husband calls me a butterfly because I flit from one hobby to another. Apart from being a wife for 49 years, a mother of three sons, and a grandmother, I'm also an author, genealogist, amateur artist, a lover of most needlecrafts, and occasional poet. Of the above, my most enduring interest has been writing and I hope to be doing it well into old age.
This entry was posted in New Author. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So how much money is there is this book writing job anyway?

  1. jwebster2 says:

    Of course we still do it anyway Carole, it would be boring if we were all sensible 😉 Anyway, you’ve probably more chance of making money from your book than you have of winning the lottery. So keep writing, ‘It could be you!’

    Like

I'd love to hear your views.

