Writer’s Voice: When You Have a Sore Throat


Useful lessons here, so I’m reblogging on https://carolec55.wordpress.com

MorganOfTheFey

It’s very difficult to tell someone their writing sucks. If there’s a hole in the plot or they got a detail of the setting wrong, that’s easy to point out because it’s easy for them to fix. But when critiquing the short stories and whatnot of my peers, I often come across writing that can’t be described any other way than it sucks. The plot can be interesting, the setting can be well researched, the characters can have good backstories, but then something about it makes it read as the work of an amateur.

But there’s good news. It’s not actually their writing that sucks, otherwise they wouldn’t have done so well in the areas I listed above. They can create stories and characters and entire universes just fine, so what I mean when I say it sucks is that it’s VOICE sucks.

Voice is so incredibly important because…

View original post 518 more words

About caroleparkes

My husband calls me a butterfly because I flit from one hobby to another. Apart from being a wife for 52 years, a mother of three sons, and a grandmother, I'm also an author, genealogist, amateur artist, a lover of most needlecrafts, and occasional poet. Of the above, my most enduring interest has been writing and I hope to be doing it well into old age.
This entry was posted in New Author. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writer’s Voice: When You Have a Sore Throat

  1. marianbeaman says:

    Thanks for re-blogging both of these posts. Voice is a serious consideration as I begin my memoir.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your views.

