Duke, my own “Boy and his dog” story


Written by Doug Lafuze, my writing partner from our soon to be published collaborated book, ‘Your Last Breath’.

Doug's Scribbles and Ramblings

Anyone who has spent much time around dogs, especially farm dogs, knows their personalities will vary just as much their human counterparts personalities. It’s what makes them unique and special to the people they own. I had the privilege of growing up with a dog so unique and special, I still tear up today when I think about him. We called him Duke.

IMG_20150827_165615

Duke was what Dad called a Heinz 57 dog, meaning he was a mix of several breeds, but you could definitely see the Collie in him. We got him as a puppy, if my memory serves me correctly, from another farm family whose dog had given birth to a litter of puppies. I think I was around eleven then, so he and I became best friends as I moved into those awkward teenage years, and we developed our own weird sort of A boy and his dog

View original post 802 more words

About caroleparkes

My husband calls me a butterfly because I flit from one hobby to another. Apart from being a wife for 49 years, a mother of three sons, and a grandmother, I'm also an author, genealogist, amateur artist, a lover of most needlecrafts, and occasional poet. Of the above, my most enduring interest has been writing and I hope to be doing it well into old age.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Humour, Life, New Author, Pets, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your views.

