National Trust Visit


After almost two years of staying home, we are finally venturing out. This lovely summer was too strong a temptation to resist despite many people still contracting covid. Well, we reasoned, National Trust gardens are outdoor spaces. We should be fine even though we’re both in our middle seventies. We’ve had to be careful as my other half has several health issues that make him more vulnerable to being adversely affected if he does get it.

A few weeks ago, we visited our nearest National Trust. Only a small one in comparison to most. However, it is an interesting one with suggestions that William Shakespeare performed there. It certainly dates from the early 1500s and evidence of that original building can still be seen today. The grounds are lovely too and the Liverpool to Leeds canal is accessible from there.

Rufford Old Hall, Lancashire

About caroleparkes

My husband calls me a butterfly because I flit from one hobby to another. Apart from being a wife for 52 years, a mother of three sons, and a grandmother, I'm also an author, genealogist, amateur artist, a lover of most needlecrafts, and occasional poet. Of the above, my most enduring interest has been writing and I hope to be doing it well into old age.
This entry was posted in Countryside, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your views.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.