Judy Martin: This Just About Sums Me up!


grin-303704__180[1]

I absolutely loved this poem by Judy Martin of http://edwinasepisodes.com/about/this-just-about-sums-me-up/comment-page-1/#comment-20297

It reminds me of the funny poems of Pam Ayres http://www.pamayres.com/index.php/category/poems/

This Just About Sums Me Up!

Oh how I wish I was graceful

and not a disaster on wheels

I trip over every obstacle

And my shoes have got broken off heels

I try so hard to be upright

But always fall flat on my face

My body is covered in bruises

From where I have fallen from grace

I long to be elegant and classy

But that is just not to be

Whilst others are sipping their cocktails

I’m knocking over my tea.

Life for me would be perfect

If only I was more chic

Instead of awkward and bumbling

And coming across as a freak

Oh how I wish I was graceful

But life is not very fair

So I’ll carry on being clumsy

And pretending that I just don’t care!

About caroleparkes

My husband calls me a butterfly because I flit from one hobby to another. Apart from being a wife for 52 years, a mother of three sons, and a grandmother, I'm also an author, genealogist, amateur artist, a lover of most needlecrafts, and occasional poet. Of the above, my most enduring interest has been writing and I hope to be doing it well into old age.
This entry was posted in Humour, Life, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Judy Martin: This Just About Sums Me up!

  1. Nirodaigh says:

    Yes, fun. I always enjoyed Pam Ayres material.

    Like

  2. Judy Martin says:

    Thanks so much for sharing Carole 😉

    Like

I'd love to hear your views.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.