Painting Just for Fun


Painting for Fun

Painting is a great way to relax, rid yourself of stress, and have fun all at the same time. It doesn’t matter if you can’t draw a straight line and you feel absolutely hopeless. This little exercise is a great way to get you started. You can buy cheap acrylic paints and brushes from the pound shop, but try to use proper painting paper for this exercise. I bought some really cheap small books of acrylic, oil, and water painting paper from my local supermarket. This technique is known as ‘wet on wet’ because you drop wet paint on to wet paper and see how it spreads and changes. It’s ideal for the beginner and professional painters too. Good luck!

Wet on Wet Fairy 2

fairyandflower

fairyb

 

Why don’t you post your efforts on your blog page and give the link to it in the comments. I’d love to see what you come up with.

 

 

About caroleparkes

My husband calls me a butterfly because I flit from one hobby to another. Apart from being a wife for 52 years, a mother of three sons, and a grandmother, I'm also an author, genealogist, amateur artist, a lover of most needlecrafts, and occasional poet. Of the above, my most enduring interest has been writing and I hope to be doing it well into old age.
This entry was posted in Art, Original Paintings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Painting Just for Fun

  1. kcg1974 says:

    This is beautiful, Carole. New to me, but I can’t wait to try it! Thank You!

    Liked by 2 people

    • caroleparkes says:

      Just let your imagination take over. Weird monsters, monks, flowers, landscapes, seascapes, or just people, I’ve seen the all in these little exercises. I usually cut mine into 2.52 X 3.5″ unless I see something in a bigger dimension.

      Like

  2. kcg1974 says:

    This is beautiful! New to me, but I can’t wait to try it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My daughter and I just did a liquid wax painting technique we saw on Pinterest so this will definitely have to be our next project. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Judy Martin says:

    That looks like a pretty yellow flower to me Carole. Sounds like good fun to do 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your views.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.